Awards & Prizes

Jewish Funders Network awards two prestigious prizes to recognize outstanding work by young foundation professionals and outstanding philanthropic collaborations. Both awards are given out at the annual Jewish Funders Network International Conference.

The JJ Greenberg Memorial Award was established in 2002 to honor foundation professionals age 40 and under who have demonstrated extraordinary leadership in the field of Jewish philanthropy. The award is presented annually to an individual who, like its namesake, has exemplified through both words and deeds the highest of Jewish values and the relentless pursuit of excellence in all aspects of life.

The Sidney Shapiro Prize for Excellence in Philanthropic Collaboration recognizes alliances of forward-thinking Jewish funders who collaborate to achieve collective impact in their chosen fields of interest. It honors JFN members who are engaged in the kind of grantmaking exemplified by Sidney Shapiro, a founding JFN board member, which was characterized as being responsive to real and pressing societal needs. The award was revamped in 2013, and was formerly called the Sidney Shapiro Tzedakah Award.