Nominations are open for the 2024 J.J. Greenberg Memorial Award until November 8! Learn more! 

The J.J. Greenberg Memorial Award honors foundation professionals engaged in grantmaking, age 40 and under, who have demonstrated extraordinary leadership in Jewish philanthropy. 

The award was created and endowed by his family, friends and colleagues as a memorial for Jonathan Joseph Greenberg following his untimely death in a traffic accident in 2002, when he was just 36. The Award is presented annually to an individual who, like J.J., has exemplified through words and deeds the highest of Jewish values and the relentless pursuit of excellence in all aspects of life.

The Award recognizes J.J. for his contributions to Jewish life and helps to advance the field of Jewish philanthropy by:

  • Inspiring and challenging all foundation professionals to embody the values that defined his career
  • Encouraging more people like J.J. to enter the field
  • Celebrating the accomplishments of the recipients

J.J. served as executive director of the Steinhardt Foundation/Jewish Life Network (JLN) from its inception in 1995, working closely with his father, Rabbi Irving “Yitz” Greenberg, the foundation’s president, and its chairman, Michael Steinhardt. J.J. assisted in creating such landmark programs and institutions as Birthright Israel; the Makor/Steinhardt Center on Manhattan’s Upper West Side; the Partnership for Excellence in Jewish Education (PEJE); Synagogue Transformation and Renewal (STAR); and the Jewish Early Childhood Education Partnership. He also helped oversee national programs in conjunction with Hillel and the Jewish Heritage Program, among others. J.J. was a spontaneous personality who enjoyed a wide range of interests. Possessed of infectious enthusiasm, he spoke fluent Hebrew, took great joy in his work, demonstrated great vision, and achieved impressive results in all of his endeavors. 

Recipients of the J.J. Greenberg Memorial Award receive an item of Judaica and $10,000 to be used for professional development or tzedakah (charity).

Find 2024 nomination forms and other details here.


Past Recipients:

2023: Doron KenterMaimonides Fund

2022: Tova Katz, The One8 Foundation

2021: Jonathan Horowitz, The Klarman Family Foundation

2020: Shayna Rose Triebwasser, Righteous Persons Foundation

2019: David RittbergCharles and Lynn Schusterman Family Foundation

2018: Amy Braier, Pears Foundation

2017: Justin Korda, Charles and Lynn Schusterman Family Foundation

2016: Lesley MatsaCrown Family Philanthropies

2015: Meytal Brown Mendelewicz & Hila MarmosThe Opportunity Fund

2014: Josh Miller, Jim Joseph Foundation

2013: Charlene Seidle, Leichtag Foundation

2012: Atar Razy Oren, Sheatufim

2011: Adene Sacks, Jim Joseph Foundation

2010: Adam Simon, Charles and Lynn Schusterman Family Foundation

2009: Felicia Herman, Natan Fund

2008: Joanna Ballantine, Harold Grinspoon Foundation

2006: Sharna Goldseker, Andrea and Charles Bronfman Philanthropies

2004: Rachel Levin, Righteous Persons Foundation